Connecting to the Internet with Sony Ericsson K550i in Ubuntu

When I first installed linux, my nightmare was to connect to the internet. I had an internal modem, but as it was very old, my linux distros [Fedora Core 4, Ubuntu 6.06 LTS] didn’t have driver for it. I googles for my modem’s driver and found one. But I couldn’t make it work.

Anyway, now I have a Sony Ericsson K550i phone which I use as an EDGE modem. Sony Ericsson does not provide any driver or PC suit software for linux. The phone driver is not required because linux detects it easily. The trick is to get connected to the internet using it.

Write the following code in an empty file and save with name “wvdial.conf”

[Modem0]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 115200
SetVolume = 0
Dial Command = ATDT
Init1 = ATZ
Init3 = ATM0
FlowControl = CRTSCTS
[Dialer gpinternet]
Username = {your username}
Password = {your password}
Phone = *99#
Stupid Mode = 1
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”{your APN}”
Inherits = Modem0

Save the file in any location [ I am assuming that it is in /home/{yourname}/Desktop/ ]

Now, open a terminal window and be root.

$sudo -i
{type your password here}

$cp /home/{yourname}/Desktop/wvdial.conf /etc/

Done!!

Now create a launcher in the desktop with command:

wvdial {your APN}

Your computer should be connected to the internet through your SonyEricsson K550i phone now.

This technique should also work for similar SonyEricsson phones as K750i, K790i, K800i, W810i etc.

Thanks to Jubair and Ayub vai for helping me writing this tutorial.

5 thoughts on “Connecting to the Internet with Sony Ericsson K550i in Ubuntu

  1. Howdy this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. I want to connect my k 550i Sony Ericson mobile to laptop to access internet on my pc but i cannot manage to download the the software. Please help me to satisfy my wish and dream. Thank you for your help

  3. what about windows xp, and what is the procedure and how it gonna works? i dont have a software also in order to connect it on my pc.

Leave a Reply

