Downgrade Motorola Moto G to Android 4.4.4 from Android 5.0

Although it might seem like an unnecessary topic, but someone might want to revert back to Android 4.4.4 KitKat from Android 5.0 Lollipop. Several reasons come to mind – you might not like the material design, you might experience performance problems with the Lollipop or you might want to go back to the stock firmware of your region instead of using the GPE firmware or the Brazil firmware. No matter what, you might want to go back to KitKat. Follow the steps below to do that. Please be cautious that this might soft-brick your phone and the way to un-brick it is to flash the lollipop firmware again.

  • Install Motorola drivers on your computer. If you haven’t done that yet, see this post for detailed instructions.
  • Install the Minimal ADB and Fastboot on your computer. Again, if you haven’t done that already, see this post.
  • Download the appropriate firmware for your phone. I had an XT1033 Asia Retail. I will describe this tutorial using that device as an example. However, you can apply these steps to any variant. Download the GPE 4.4.4 firmware from this site or the Brazil Retail 4.4.4 firmware from this site or the Asia Retail 4.4.4 firmware from this site.
  • Extract the zip file you downloaded and copy the executable files from the installation directory of Minimal ADB and Fastboot into the extracted folder.
  • Turn your phone off, wait a few seconds. Press the Volume Down button and the Power button for a few seconds and then release the Power button, it will take you to bootloader menu.
  • Connect your USB cable to your computer and phone. Right Click + Shift on the empty space of the folder on your computer and select Open Command Prompt Here.
  • Type the following commands:

fastboot flash logo logo.bin
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.0
fastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.1
fastboot flash system system.img_sparsechunk.2
fastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin
fastboot erase modemst1
fastboot erase modemst2
fastboot flash fsg fsg.mbn
fastboot erase cache
fastboot erase userdata

fastboot reboot

You should now have stock Android 4.4.4 on your phone. Please be advised that some users (including me) have experienced screen flickering after downgrade. I rebooted the phone and the flickering was gone. But your experience may vary.

 

7 thoughts on “Downgrade Motorola Moto G to Android 4.4.4 from Android 5.0

  1. Salam, Mr. Hafiz, my problem is that I was playing a game at my Moto G XT1033 (v5.0.1). Then suddenly the screen got stuck, i turned it off then when I turned it on, it got stuck on Logo screen. Since, I didn’t liked lollipop so then I tried to downgrade to 4.4.4. For that. I followed your procedure word to word, but, in the end I am still STUCKED on the “M” logo of lollipop (it seems that it didn’t downgraded though)…… sometime, I’m stuck on “WARNING BOOTLOADER UNLOCKED” screen……………….I already made my backup before…… PLZZZZ, help me, Tell me what to do…….. If u live in UAE, mention it……

  2. Can you plz tell me what to do now……. because I followed your procedure since the beginning …… Tell me all the steps of what to do……. I shall be thankful…….. mine is XT1033………. PLZ HELP ME……. I’m badly stuck….

  3. I don’t know anything about kernels, partition mismatch or flashing,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,just tell me the steps, i’ll follow them word to word…..

Leave a Reply

